Main Menu

* TalkBox

TalkBox v1.0

Community RPG Project Idea

Started by Rainyday, January 30, 2013, 01:37:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rainyday

Here's an idea.

If you've played games like VH or RyonaRPG before, then maybe you've heard about the method their development uses: Apache Subversion.
I'm no expert but basically it means that the main copy is kept on a server and everyone's individual copies are constantly updated to match it, and their own changes are also sent to the central server and things.

To put it simply, everyone can work on it at the same time almost whenever they want.

I was wondering how much interest the forum as a whole would have to contribute to something like this.
I could help with the art, but for obvious reasons I shouldn't commit a significant amount of my time to yet another project in addition to what I'm already working on, so it's not something I'd be able to carry by myself.

There's no maximum or minimum limit to participation.
All you need is:
-Simple RPG Maker proficiency (Extremely easy to learn, like 10-30 minutes easy for the basics)
-Ideas
-Time

Any discussion or feedback at all is welcome, from thoughts about the process to ideas about the game itself. I just want to see how much interest there is.
Note both RyonaRPG and VH take place in high fantasy world settings, and in a way that's suited to the development because it means a wide variety of different areas where anything can happen.

On the other hand I've got some leftover resources from an indefinite hiatus smaller omo game that takes place in a modern-day city, so that might work too.

Discuss away, hopefully. Even posts saying 'I don't know much about what I'll be able to do but if I can help I'll try' are reassuring.

Links:
Everything you need about RPG Maker VX Ace
(RPG Maker XP is an option too, though)

Lisk